Hey, it’s been over a year since I posted in this blog, so I thought I would catch up a little. I’ve been doing sculpture. Yup. Art in real life. But, I haven’t forgotten about my writing. This year’s election (don’t get me started) has given me insights into a story I’ve been kicking around in my head. It’s called ‘The Messenger Saga’, about aliens who use the Catholic Church to try to take over the Earth. Deep stuff. So, I decided to try NaNoWriMo again and draft the first part of a 5 part series. I know, I know. I haven’t been able to keep myself motivated enough to do anything for 30 days straight in the past. But, I think I can do better now. I feel better about myself now than I ever have, and I think turning my feelings over the election into fodder for fiction is much healthier than running through the streets screaming “Have you lost your freakin’ mind, America??” But, I digress. LOL

Nano starts next week, and I have my rough outline and character work done. I’m not going to over-plan this in order to keep myself interested. And, I’ve decided to use my love of art and creativity to study graphic design, with an eye towards possibly becoming a freelancer sometime next year. My main motivation there is, of course, money. I don’t have enough, and it sucks. (Of course, nowadays, who does?) Anyway, I think I can make it work. But for now, I’m going to write a first draft, take a free course in graphic design, keep making sculptures, and keep my head down until the election, and the drama to follow, is over.

I’m going to post my daily writing here to keep myself motivated and have a goal. Hopefully. We’ll see, won’t we? Peace out until then.

Leave a Reply

